Why Can’t I Repost on TikTok? (& What To Do)

I am a person who mainly scrolls through the TikTok content of others, but I never create my own content. As with my other social media accounts, I’m mainly only there to entertain myself when I have a little downtime. 

The repost feature allows me to share content that I like with other people. Thanks to this feature, I contribute to the community much more than I did before. However, making this option appear on my app required a bit of work. 

If you can’t repost videos on TikTok, the most likely reason is that your app is outdated or you have the feature turned off in your privacy settings. If neither of these is the issue, your TikTok account may not have been included in the testing phase of the repost feature. 

Worst case scenario, you have to wait until the feature is available to you. However, the information below will help you gain the repost feature if your account is able. 

Why don’t I have the repost option on TikTok? 

If you don’t see the repost option on TikTok, ensure you’re on the For You page. For now, you’ll only see the repost option on the For You page. It isn’t available on the Following or Discover pages. 

You may need to update your app if you don’t have the repost option on the For You page. The repost feature is a new feature on TikTok that was included in the most recent update. If you don’t have this update, you won’t be able to repost videos. 

Additionally, there’s an option in your TikTok settings that will allow you to turn the repost feature off. This setting may have easily been disabled by mistake, so you’ll need to check your settings to ensure it’s on. 

It’s also possible that you’re not one of the users that were given the feature during the testing phase. If this is the case, you’ll have to wait until the feature is released to you. 

Here’s How To Fix the Repost Issue!

1. Outdated App 

Apps bring their new features through updates to their app. If you haven’t updated to the latest version of TikTok, you won’t have the new repost feature. 

Automatic updates will usually install all app updates automatically, but sometimes an update will slip through the cracks. To be sure this isn’t one of those times, you’ll need to check for the update manually. 

To check for the update on an iPhone:

  1. Open the App Store from your phone. 
  2. Tap on the “my account” icon. If you have a profile photo, it will be your profile photo. 
  3. Tap Available Updates. 
  4. You will see a list of apps that need to be updated. See if TikTok is on this list. 
  5. If you see TikTok on the list, tap Update. If you do not, you have the most recent version. 

To check for the update on an Android:

  1. Open the Play Store app from your phone. 
  2. Tap your account icon. (This may be your profile picture.)
  3. Select Manage Apps and Devices. 
  4. Select Overview.
  5. Select Updates Available. 
  6. Scan the list of apps that need to be updated for the TikTok app. If it’s there, select Update. 

Once you’ve updated the app, you should have the repost option if it is available to you. If other TikTok users in your country have the repost feature, and you still do not, you may need to try clearing the app’s cached data. 

In some cases, you may have to delete that app and reinstall it to clear more complex bugs within the app’s data. In the same place that you checked for the update, you should easily be able to find the option to uninstall the app. 

After the app has been uninstalled, simply go to your app store, search for the app, and redownload it. 

How to Fix Repost Option Not Showing in TikTok (New Update 2022)

2. Feature Not Available for You

When apps add new features, they generally put the feature through a beta phase, which is used for testing the new feature.  During the testing phase, they only make the feature available to some users to see how it will work out before giving it to everyone. 

If the feature receives good feedback during the testing phase, it’ll likely become available to all TikTok users at a later date. 

However, if the results of the beta phase are unfavorable, they could discontinue the feature altogether. If this happens, even the users who have the feature currently will lose it. 

3. Video Not Available for Repost 

TikTok allows the creator of the video to prevent their videos from being shared if they wish to do so. This gives content creators more control over their privacy. 

While many people love the idea of their videos going viral, some prefer to have more control over who sees their videos and only wish to share their content with their TikTok followers. 

If you usually have the repost option and the video you’re trying to repost was found on the For You page, the user that created the video may have the feature turned off for their content. Or they may have disabled the option for that specific video. 

If the person who posted the video does not allow their content to be shared, you will not be able to repost the video even if you have the option and the video is on your For You page. 

Knowing where you are on the App

Where you are on the TikTok app is crucial to whether or not you can repost a video. As mentioned above, videos can only be shared from your For You page. 

The Discover Tab

The discover tab on TikTok allows you to find new popular content. This tab is where they feature the most trendy content on the app. 

This is also where they feature their top content created, as well as sponsored content.

Additionally, you can search for specific content. You can search for your favorite creator, a hashtag, or a keyword to find videos about specific topics. If you want to find the video that started a certain trend, you can also discover that here. 

Once you search for content, you can filter it by hashtags, videos, live videos, and more. 

However, videos cannot be reposted from this tab. 

The Following Tab

The following tab shows videos that have been uploaded to the platform by users that you follow. It is home to all the creators you found remarkable enough to hit the follow button. 

Watching videos through this tab makes it easy to ensure that you see content from users you’ve chosen yourself rather than the ones selected by TikTok’s algorithm. While the content on the For You page is supposed to be tailored to your style, it has its flaws, making the following tab the best option for content you know you’ll love. 

Unfortunately, due to reasons only known by TikTok, the repost button will not present itself if you find a video you love on this tab. 

The Inbox Tab 

The inbox tab is where you can find the private messages you’ve exchanged with your friends on TikTok. Depending on your privacy setting preferences, you may only be to message those who you’ve followed back. 

Videos are not normally viewed on this tab. You’ll only view videos on this tab that have been shared with you through a private message. 

While the repost option is not available for videos you watch in the inbox tab, you can still easily pass them along to other friends through a TikTok message, other messaging platforms, or by sharing them on your Facebook page. 

How To Undo Repost On TikTok 

If you’ve just shared the video and still have the video pulled up, you can hit the share button again. Look where the repost button was when you shared, and select the option to remove the repost. 

However, if you’ve scrolled far past the video, or its been a few days since you shared it, you’ll need to follow the steps below:

  1. Tap your profile tab in the bottom right corner of your screen. 
  2. Tap the three dots in the top right corner. 
  3. Tap Settings and Privacy. 
  4. Tap Watch History. 
  5. Locate the video that you wish to undo the repost and tap it.
  6. Tap Share.
  7. Tap Delete Repost.

How To Turn Off Repost On TikTok 

If you do not want other users to be able to share your TikTok videos, you’ll need to turn to repost off. Otherwise, if your video appears on someone’s For You page, they will be able to repost it. 

To turn off repost on TikTok: 

  1. Tap the profile tab at the bottom right corner of your screen.
  2. Tap the three dots at the top right corner of your screen. 
  3. Tap Settings and Privacy.
  4. Tap Privacy. 
  5. Select Repost from the Safety section. 
  6. Move the toggle to the left to turn repost off. 

Once you have completed these steps, others will no longer be able to repost the videos you upload to TikTok. 

Final Thoughts

With any luck, the information I’ve provided has made it possible for you to repost videos on TikTok. 

If the steps above haven’t fixed your issue with being unable to repost on TikTok, you may need to report a problem to TikTok. You will have to do this under the Settings and Privacy tab in the app. 

If all else fails, you may have no choice but to wait until the feature is past its testing phase and is available to all users. 

Leave a Comment