This Person is Unavailable on Messenger But Not Blocked (Meaning & Fixing It)

When Messenger tells you that the person you’re trying to message is unavailable, your first thought is most likely that they’ve blocked you. Luckily, that isn’t always the case. 

The first time I got the “This person is unavailable” message on Messenger, I was trying to message my mom. I knew she hadn’t blocked me, and it said that she was “active now.” So why was it saying that she was unavailable?

If Facebook Messenger gives the “This person is unavailable” message when you try to send a message to someone on Messenger, it will generally mean that the person has blocked you or their account has been suspended. However, it can also be a glitch due to an outdated app or a slow internet connection. 

If you’ve been blocked, there’s not much you can do. However, below I will help you determine if you’ve been blocked and how to fix the error if you haven’t. 

What Are the Causes of This Error Message? 

If you’re getting this error message, there are a few different things it could be. The good news is, it doesn’t always mean the person blocked you. 

Let’s look at how you can find out and how you can get rid of the message if it’s just an error. 

1. Check if You Are Blocked 

If you cannot send a message to someone on Messenger, it often means that the person has blocked you on Messenger or Facebook. If they blocked you on Facebook, it’s very simple to check. 

However, if they blocked you on Messenger and only selected to block your messages, it’s a little more challenging to know for sure. The most common sign is if you send a message and the check mark never turns gray or says they are unavailable. 

To see if you’ve been blocked using your mobile app:

  1. Open your Facebook app.
  2. Tap the search icon at the top of your screen. 
  3. Type the name they use on their Facebook profile into the search bar. 
  4. If you’re blocked, they may not appear in the search. 
  5. If they do show up, tap their name. 

To check from your computer:

  1. Go to Facebook.com
  2. Click on the search bar in the top left corner. 
  3. Type their profile name in the search bar and hit enter. 
  4. If their profile shows up, click it to see if you can see their profile. 

If you can still see their profile, they haven’t blocked you on Facebook altogether. However, if there is an error message when going to their profile, it’s a good sign that they’ve been blocked. 

2. Check Facebook Memories

If they’ve interacted with your posts in the past, you should be able to see their profile in your Facebook Memories. If not, it will let you know that either you’ve been blocked or they have deleted their account. 

To check your Facebook Memories:

  1. Open your Facebook app.
  2. Tap the menu icon at the top left corner of the screen. 
  3. Tap Memories

Scroll through your old posts and see if you can see their profile. If you find it, tap it to see if you can visit their profile. If not, it’s been deleted, deactivated, suspended, or you’re blocked. 

3. Make Sure That You Are Not Contacting a Suspended Account

If a Facebook account has been suspended, it will usually look like the account has been deleted, but you will still be able to see their name and picture in your messages list. You will also still be able to see where they’ve tagged you in past posts. 

The easiest way to see if the person’s account has been suspended is by searching for their profile in the Facebook app. If their account has been suspended, you will not be able to go to their profile even though it appears to be there. Sometimes, an account may not appear in search if it’s been suspended. 

4. Find Out if the Person Has Deactivated Their Account 

It’s also possible that the person deleted their account. 

If this is the case, when you go to the messages you’ve exchanged with the person, the messages will still be there. However, their profile picture and name will be gone. Instead, where their name should be, it will say “Facebook User.”

You can also search for their name on Facebook. If their profile doesn’t show up, the account has been deleted. 

However, if you think you could be blocked, it will prevent their profile from showing up. In this case, you can try having a mutual friend search for their account. 

5. Check Account Status 

Since you can’t see the other person’s profile settings, you must check their account status by searching for their profile or checking how your chat history looks with the person. 

If you search for their profile and:

  • Deleted: Their profile doesn’t show up
  • Deactivated/Suspended: Their profile shows up, but you cannot visit it: 
  • Active: Their profile shows up, and you can visit and see recent posts

If their account is active, and you can’t send them messages, either they have you blocked on Messenger, or there is something wrong on your end. 

6. Update the Application

If they haven’t been suspended, deleted their account, or blocked you, the issue could be a simple bug in the Messenger app.  

If you have an older version of the Messenger app, you may have missed out on some of the bug fixes included in the new version. 

To update your Messenger app:

  1. Open the app store on your device. 
  2. Type Messenger into the search bar. 
  3. Select Messenger from the results. 
  4. Tap Update. 

If you see “Open” instead of “update” on the app’s information screen, your app is already up to date. 

7. Try Using the Web Version

To see if there is an issue with your app, try using the web version on your smartphone, tablet, or computer. 

To try using the web version:

  1. Open the browser on your device.
  2. Tap the search bar and enter https://www.facebook.com
  3. Click Login and enter your login details.
  4. Once you’ve logged in, click the messenger icon at the top of the screen. 
  5. Click See all Messages. 
  6. Select the person’s chat and see if you can send them a message. 

If you can message them through the web version, it likely means that there is a problem with your app. If the app is the issue clearing the app’s cache could help.

8. Connect to High-Speed Internet

If you are using a slow internet connection, it could prevent the app or website from loading correctly. If this happens, you can see they are unavailable in error. 

You can perform a speed test to ensure your internet is operating at the correct speed. If your result is slower than it should be, unplug your router from the wall for 30 seconds. 

After you plug your router back in, give it plenty of time to reconnect to the network. Then, restart your device and try sending the person a message again. 

If you’re using mobile data, connect to WiFi if you can.  

9. Contact Facebook Team

If you’re still seeing “This person is unavailable,” consider reaching out to Facebook to see if they can provide additional assistance. 

To contact the Facebook Support Team:

  1. Go to the desktop version of Facebook. 
  2. Click your profile picture. 
  3. Click Help and Support.
  4. Click Report a Problem.
  5. Click Something Went Wrong.
  6. Select Messenger from the dropdown list.
  7. Type a detailed explanation of what is happening. 
  8. Add a screenshot of the message if you can.
  9. Click submit. 

Once you submit your request, it will likely take 2 to 3 business days to get a response. 

If you cannot use the desktop version, you can send an email to their support inbox at support@fb.com.

Conclusion 

Not being able to send messages to the people you want to contact on Messenger can be frustrating and inconvenient. It’s especially disappointing when you know their account is active and you haven’t been blocked. 

If the person has blocked you, there’s nothing you can do other than ask them to unblock you. 

With any luck, the steps above have stopped the “This person is unavailable” message. If not, double-check that you’ve tried all the tips above, then contact Facebook. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Why can I not find my friend’s Facebook profile?

If you can’t find your friend’s Facebook profile, they likely have their privacy settings set to keep their profile from showing up in search results. It could also mean that one of you has the other blocked. 

Why does Facebook suspend some accounts?

If Facebook suspends an account, it’s because they detected suspicious activity or something was done that violated their community guidelines. 

Who can see my Facebook profile?

Who can see your Facebook profile depends on your privacy settings. Your profile picture and other general information are public, but you can control who sees everything else in your privacy settings. 

What happens if I block someone?

If you block someone on Facebook, they will no longer be able to see your profile, posts, or send you messages. To them, it will look like your account was deleted.

Leave a Comment